Megans Law at CA.GOV
Show All Answers
Megans Law at CA.Gov
Megans Law at CA.GOV
Generally, the registration requirement is a lifetime requirement. During annual registrations, the registered sex offender is required to verify his or her name and address or temporary location. Failure to register may be a felony and may count as a "Third Strike".
A "serious" sex offender is an individual convicted of at least one of the following charges: assault with intent to commit rape, oral copulation, or sodomy; rape; sodomy with a minor or by force; lewd or lascivious conduct with a child or a dependent adult; oral copulation with a minor by force; continuous sexual abuse of a child; child molestation; penetration with a foreign object by force; kidnapping with intent to commit specified sex offenses; felony sexual battery; felony enticement of a child for purposes of prostitution; abduction of a child for purposes of prostitution.
"Other" sex offenders are required to register, but are not subject to public disclosure under Megan's Law. This category usually involves misdemeanor convictions for such offenses as possession of child pornography, exhibitionism, sexual battery, incest or spousal rape. Additionally, sex offenders adjudicated in juvenile court are not subject to public disclosure.
An alternative to visiting the Sheriff's Department is the California Department of Justice Identification Line at 1-(900) 448-3000. The cost is $10.00 per call for information on two subjects. Your phone number will be recorded and you will be charged automatically. Hours are Monday - Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
When you call, you may find out if someone you know is one of California's registered sex offenders. To have access to this information, you must be 18 years or older, will be asked to identify yourself, and must have reasonable suspicion that a child is at risk. You will need the subject's name and address, or birth date, or Social Security information. You need to provide the person's name and at least five of the following: height, weight, hair color, eye color, ethnicity/race, description of scars, tattoos, or birthmarks. For more information contact the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Criminal Information and Analysis, P. O. Box 903387, Sacramento, CA 94203-3870.
Megan's Law data can only be searched by entering the name of an offender, or a ZIP code. For example, if you type in the name of a sex offender, all the above information for that offender will be displayed. If you type in a ZIP code, the above information for all offenders residing within that ZIP code will be displayed. By law, the residential address of registered sex offenders is NOT public information.
Since Megan's Law data has been available, the public has helped law enforcement identify offenders who are not registered with the correct address. State agents from the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Investigation, work with local law enforcement to arrest sex offenders who do not comply with registration laws.
If you intend to access information through the California DOJ Child Molester Identification Hotline, you must be 18 years or older. You will be asked to identify yourself, and must have reasonable suspicion that a child is at risk. You will need the subject's name and address, or birth date, or Social Security information. You need to provide the person's name and at least five of the following: height, weight, hair color, eye color, ethnicity/race, description of scars, tattoos, or birthmarks.