The Mariposa County Department of Child Support Services offers assistance to any parent (custodial or non-custodial) or guardian. The services are offered only to those with children who need help in establishing support obligations or in collection and distribution of child or medical support.
Customer Service Survey
Please take a few minutes to complete this survey
in order to provide us with feedback on your most recent contact with the Child Support Program. Thank you!
Customer Connect http://www.childsup.ca.gov/payments/customerconnect.aspx
is California’s self-service, child support case information system. You can access your account information online as well as view, save and print your Child Support documents 24 hours a day, seven days a week, or call Customer Connect using their toll-free automated phone system.
Call 1-866-901-3212 toll-free (within the U.S.)
Call 1-408-273-0073 (outside the U.S.)
Call TTY 1-866-399-4096 toll-free
mobile app provides easy and secure access to your child support account on the go. Download CAChildSup
app for free via the Apple App Store
or the Google Play Store
Virtual Interactive Online Application (VIOLA)
Submit your child support application electronically. It's the easy, secure, no-cost application process.
Just complete the application, submit, and a county child support professional will contact you.
Compromise of Arrears Program (COAP)
In certain child support cases, the law allows for a parent to pay less than his or her total child support debt owed to the government because their child received public assistance during a time that the parent did not pay the court ordered child support. This is called a compromise of arrears.
If you are interested in the Compromise of Arrears Program, contact our office. For more information on the program policies and procedures of COAP, visit the California Department of Child Support Services COAP
$25 Annual Service Fee
In the Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law 109-171, all states were instructed to impose a $25 Annual Service Fee to non-welfare families (never-assisted cases) who are disbursed $500 or more during the federal fiscal year. The mandate went into effect January 1, 2008. As of October 1, 2010, the State will no longer pay the fee on behalf of families.
Beginning October 1, 2011, and every October 1 thereafter, DCSS will assess the $25 Annual Service Fee to all never-assisted cases that meet the criteria for assessment. The service fee will be withheld from the never-assisted custodial party’s next child support payment(s) until the $25 is fully recovered. Although the first disbursement(s) paid to the custodial party on or after October 1 will be reduced by $25, the NCP will get full credit for the amount of the collection received. For more information about the $25 annual fee, click here
. You can also view the $25 Annual Service Fee Frequently Asked Questions